news artists labelinfo discography mole videos at mole at myspace mole at facebook contact


En Passant (ReRelease)

visit artist page

To translate yearning and dreams of faraway sceneries into beautiful and unheard sounds is what makes pop duo Alphawezen aka Ernst Wawra and Asu Yalcindag so special. Their second album „En Passant“ (succeeding their fine effort „ L Aprčs-Midi d un Microphone“) comprises of 12 songs full of fleeting moments, the basic mood of which swings between soothing melancholy and mellow serenity. Sublime as in the title track, thoughtful as in „Speed Of Light“, friendly as in „Sommerzeit“ or cool as in „Welcome To Machinarchy.“

„En Passant“ comes with such consummate ease as if being produced en passant. But it soon becomes obvious that the album is thoroughly thought through and done with complete mastery. Alphawezen playfully explore the realm between art and kitsch, experiment and calculation, yearning arrangements and hypnotic dance tracks. Some will storm the dancefloor as soon as „Welcome To Machinarchy“ sets in, a charming bow to 1980s New Wave hymns. And some will smilingly remember their first disco adventures, pondering all the mistakes, entanglements and states of confusion of a time long gone.

If you move from disco to disco you will gladly discover some fast moving tracks in this diverse offering. If you like to travel at home, you will find it pleasing to travel with Alphawezen. The album „en passant“ reminds of something which came into existence just now but radiates a feeling of something which has been around forever. And that is magical and very soothing. (By the way, the cover pictures one of the most-wanted chess robots of the 70ies, a Novag Robot.)

This is Part 4 of the new "Listening Pearls Series", a series with ReReleases of the best and most important albums of the label "Mole Listening Pearls", which were mostly sold out for a long period of time. The album is also available as part of the Listening Pearls Series (Box Two).

Bookmark and Share
TitleReal Audio
1. Chance Destination
2. Speed Of Light
3. Rain
4. In The Beginning
5. Welcome To Machinarchy
6. I Like You
7. Sommerzeit
8. En Passant
9. White Noise
10. Prothetique De Cerveau
11. Wald2
12. Speed Of Light (Godart String Version)